Dusting off the cobwebs

The other day I swept off my driveway.  If you know me well, you know I don’t like to clean.  Generally, I find cleaning a waste of time, because I can be doing far more exciting things like planning events for Active Mama’s, teaching and playing with my son (who just woke up from a 3 hour nap, wow!), or cooking.

To my surprise, I found the time therapeutic.  I embraced the ‘sweeping’ as a time I was creating a better well-being for my family, and thought about the life we are creating for my son.

Work has gotten more demanding these days, and I’m also gearing up to lead the Active Mama’s Warrior Maven workshop, a 6 month program focused on value-creation, self-improvement, goal-setting and -achievement, and traditions.  Let me invite you into my head:

  • “Sweep, sweep… I’m doing this for my family.
  • Sweep, sweep… I feel more organized.
  • Sweep, sweep… I’m glad it’s beautiful outside, the air smells good.
  • Sweep, sweep… when I go back inside, I’m going to pick up toys, and get dinner on the table.
  • Sweep, sweep… I’m happy and blessed.
  • Sweep, sweep… I have to strength and ability to really excel at work, and get my full-time workload done in half the time.
  • Sweep, sweep… I am in control of my outcomes.  God-willing, I have talent, and I need to engage it every day, and set a good example to my son.”

What kind of self-talk do you do?  What do you tell yourself when no one’s listening?  If your words aren’t positive, and you’re not sure how to use affirmations, then you are ripe for the Warrior Workshop yourself (http://www.meetup.com/Active-Mamas/).

In my life, I experienced one relationship that was harmful.  I learned the power of positive affirmations at that point.  In addition to prayer, positive affirmations change your life, because they help you ‘change your mind’.  Positive self-talk engages a brighter future, a more optimistic viewpoint, and a healthier expectation of what is to come.

Take some time this week to engage yourself in positive self-talk – it’s mission-critical.  If you’re having some focus issues, take 5 minutes to write 1 affirmation down in a notecard, and stick it in your wallet.  Write it down again, and put it on the mirror.  When you brush your teeth, say that affirmation out loud.

Watch this spunky girl for some fun-spiration if you need it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qR3rK0kZFkg

Comment below with some positive affirmations that you can share.

Love Robyn

Read more about Robyn by clicking on the About Robyn page

Leave a Reply

