Men and Their Skin

men skin

Have you ever looked at your husbands skin and wondered why in the world do they have better skin than me? After all we’re the ones that spend tons of money on skin care products and beauty supplies!

Well, there is a method to the madness and I’m here to share their secret with you. Although there are many reasons why we women are prone to blemishes, the biggest reason we deal with these unfriendly friends is because of a little thing called hormones! As we all know, women are full of hormones and all different kinds of hormones at that. One of the biggest culprits are the hormones that come along with ‘Aunt Flow’ for her monthly visit. When ‘Aunt Flow’ visits you’ll notice a few friends will pop up around your chin and upper lip. Naturally men have the upper hand because they aren’t having to deal with ‘Aunt Flow’ and the hormones that come with her, along with the fact that many of our men are shaving and shaving is a great way to exfoliate the skin. When exfoliating the skin you’re breaking down the dead skin build up, which helps with cell turn over.

Regardless of Mens shaving advantage and lack of hormones they too need a skin care regimen to nourish and moisturize the skin. This week my husband Brentton, received his first skin care products, I came home from school with a bag of goodies. My husband has oily skin so I brought him home a gel cleanser, a daily nutrient toner and an oil control complex moisturizer. Since we are talking men here, you MUST make the regimen short a sweet, only three products. I remind him every night which one goes first and hope eventually he’ll catch on. The first night that he tried out his new skin care regimen I asked him how his skin felt, he replied “It felt AMAZING!”

I laughed and thought to myself “my job here us done!” I encourage everyone to pick something up for their husband’s next time you’re in target’s beauty section or at Sephora or Ulta. It doesn’t have to be the most expensive products just as long as they aren’t using a bar of soap!

– Ashley
________________

About Ashley

I have always been intrigued by skin care in general. I enjoy learning about product ingredients and what they do and how they work . I remember giving my dad and mom facials made out of sugar, oatmeal, honey and pretty much anything else you could find in the pantry. When it comes to make up I think I may have a slight obsession, I thoroughly enjoy the art of make up. I spend my time learning different techniques, the new trends, and color theory.  This is why when my husband and I moved to Atlanta from California this past summer I decided it was time to go to school for Esthetics. I am currently a student at The Elaine Sterling Institute of Esthetics and am loving every moment of it. I am also a mother to a 1 year old little girl named Makenna Grace. She is  my absolute inspiration.

3 thoughts on “Men and Their Skin

  1. My husband has dry skin on his face and his hands get so dry from washing that they crack. Any product recommendations? I keep telling him he needs to moisturize 😉

  2. On his hands i would get him Curel Dailey Moisturize. Its a great hydrating lotion, i have the same problem with my hands so i apply the lotion as much as possible and its helps a lot! For his face i would start with a cream cleanser. The cream will be hydrating and then he needs to follow it up with a Very hydrating moisturizer and if possible i would get hime two different kinds. One a moisturizer and the other a serum. You can always go to any Sephora or Ulta and tell them what you’re looking for and they can show you all the products that are similar,also tell them what your budget is and they can help you stay in it.

Leave a Reply

